To report absences, please email

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS is how the Government and early years’ practitioners describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.

At Highfield Hall Primary School, our curriculum incorporates everything we want the children to experience, learn and be able to do. It meets all the requirements of the educational programmes in the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and has the flexibility to allow us to respond quickly to children’s new interests and/or needs. The intent for our children is for them to enter the next stage of their education ready to tackle new challenges with confidence and a positive mindset.

Within this EYFS Statutory Framework (2024) there are four guiding principles which shape are practice.

These are:
1. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident, and self-assured.
2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
4. Importance of learning development - Children develop and learn at different rates.

The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).

Our curriculum encompasses seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected. Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships, and thriving.

These are called the prime areas:
• communication and language
• physical development
• personal, social, and emotional development.

Four areas help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas. These are called the specific areas:
• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design

Throughout their time in the Nursery and the Reception Year, our children partake in an ambitious curriculum which is designed in a sequential way to ensure progress towards the end of reception goals. These goals are defined as Early Learning Goals (ELGs). Please click here for detailed descriptors of each ELG